top of page
Writer's pictureThomas (StarManOfAtmora)

What I will be Watching for the Spring 2019 Season

It's over, and yeah, it's a bit sad. The Winter 2019 season is over, and most shows are getting ready to or have already released their final episode. But there's no need to worry, because as always, a new season is on the horizon. Spring 2019 is loaded with promising stuff, but what will I be watching?


Attack on Titan Season 3 Part 2



The last season of 'Attack on Titan' was really freaking good. To be honest, all of the seasons have been really freaking good. Despite the slow release schedule of the series, it has somehow managed to stay at least sort of relevant. Even though there was a four year wait between the first two seasons, it's still manages to always be one of the most popular shows of the season. The drop in viewership between the different seasons is kind of insane though. And while I know MAL isn't representative of the community as a whole, it's still really interesting to look at the numbers. 1.5 million users had watched season 1, eight hundred thousand users watched season 2, and four hundred thousand viewers watched season 3. So, now we're at season part 2, and I coudn't be more excited. The fight scenes is season 3 were some of the best in the series, and the plot just keeps getting better. The worldbuilding and mystery is superb, giving you a fair amount of information so that it will be interesting and grab your attention, but not so much that you feel like you know everything. It's far from the best, but it's still really great, and I can't wait to watch more.


Isekai Quartet



This was a suprise show that came out of nowhere. A crossover show between Overlord, The Saga of Tanya the Evil, Konosuba, and Re:Zero? Count me in! Even though the third season of Overlord was... let's say underwhelming, Konosuba wasn't as funny as I thought it'd be, and I dropped Re:Zero instantly after Rem's confession scene, I still enjoyed Tanya. And it's not as though I hate these shows. I enjoyed most of Overlord, Konosuba had great character designs and voice acting, Tanya was a fresh new take on the genre, and Re:Zero... well I liked it until that confession scene. Up until then I considered it about a 7/10, but yeah that made it a 1/10 for me. Still, the idea of the show intrigues me, and having some funny ten minute episodes to watch each week is something i'm definitely looking forward to.


Kitsune Senko-san



How could I not be excited for this show? It's got a cute fox girl, it's made by the greatest studio in all of existence Doga Kobo, and the director is... well actually I don't really recognize any of the things this director has done before. He seems to have storyboarded some episodes of 'Anima Yell' and 'Watashi ni Tenshi ga Maorita', but that's about everything I recognize. He was an episode director for 'Kiss x Sis' though, so he's clearly done some good work before though. In all seriousness, I'm pretty excited for this. WataTen was great, and I always look forward to my seasonal dose of moe goodness. If this manages to keep up with the quality of previous Doga Kobo shows, then I think we've got another 8/10 on our hands.


Joshikausei


[I coudn't find any decent thumbnails for this]


"Who needs dialog when you're this cute? The beautiful (but unlucky) Momoko, the cool, collected Shibumi, and the refreshingly innocent Mayumi star in a "silent manga." No speeches, no dialog! Just pictures, sound effects, and three high school girls living their daily lives."

Well, that's the summary Crunchyroll gives, and it sounds pretty good. Just cute girls doing what cute girls tend to do. This probably isn't going to be anything other than a 6 or 7, but it sounds interesting enough for me to give it a try. The production for this show is going to save a ton of money on not having to hire voice actors though. I don't really have anything else to add.


Bungo Stray Dogs is getting a third season as well. I haven't watched any of this, and I have zero idea what it's about, but the title and character designs look cool, so I think i'll watch it sometime later this year.

___________________________________________________________________________


Well, that's what i'm going to be watching this season. I hope you enjoyed reading this, and follow me on Twitter if you feel like it (@tes_star). Sayonara ;)

Comments


bottom of page