top of page
Writer's pictureThomas (StarManOfAtmora)

What I will be Watching for the Summer 2019 Season

And woud you look at that, twelve weeks have passed by and most shows only have one or two episodes left. The Spring season was filled with great shows, and some lackluster ones. The second cour of 'Attack on Titan' season 3 was great, and 'Hitoribocchi no Marumaru Seikatsu' might be one of the best cute girl shows of the entire decade. The remake of 'Fruits Basket' has also been very popular, and deservedly so. But enough dwelling on the past, a new season means new shows, and these are the shows I'll be watching. We have a lot to get through, so strap yourselves in, and let's begin!


(Is it Wrong to try to Pick up Girls in a Dungeon? Second Season)



The first season of DanMachi was released in 2015, and since then we've gotten a fanservice OVA and a 12 episode spinoff which was mostly just the exact same thing. But now we're finally getting a full fledged sequel! I will say though, I'm not really that excited for this. I enjoyed the original a fair amount, but It's not like I consider to be anything more than a 6/10. Although, who knows, maybe this season will manage to push it up to a more favorable score? Though as long as we get some cool fights, explosions and cute girls, I'll be happy.




The first show which I'm actually kind of excited for. 'Dr. Stone' is an adaptation of a Shonen Jump manga, and from what I've seen and heard of it, It sounds really good. The plot is about a world where everyone has turned into stone, and some three thousand years later, people start emerging out from their stone-selves. I really enjoy shows about building cities and emerging civilizations such as 'Overlord' and 'Tensei Slime', so I have high hopes for this.




Now we're getting into the good stuff. Vinland Saga is an adaptation of a highly popular manga, and it's about vikings. I don't really know anything else about it. Apparently it's kind of like 'Berserk', so I look forward to some cool violence. And vikings of course.


(Fire Force)



This is also a show I'm fairly excited for, though I don't have very high expectations. Mostly because apart from watching a short review of the two first volumes of the manga, I know literally nothing about it. The plot synopsis is that some people are turning into fire monsters, and it's up to the Fire Force to stop the fire monsters with their super awesome fire powers. It's a shonen manga through and through, and it's by the same guy who did 'Soul Eater', Atsushi Ookubo. I haven't read or watched any of his previous work, but apparently it's really good, so I hope that we get some cool fights at least.


(How Many Kilograms are the Dumbbells You Lift?)



Doga Kobo is giving us are weekly seasonal moe goodness back with a new show, this time an adaptation of a manga about... working out? I'll preface this by saying that I'm skeptical about this, because... well it's about training 'n stuff. I trust in Doga Kobo to give us some cute girls, though I don't think they'l be able to top themselves after 'WataTen' and 'Sewayaki Kitsune no Senko-san'. My expectations are tempered, but cute girls and Doga Kobo is a flawless combination, so It'l probably be good.


(Astra Lost in Space)


It's... It's just Mugen no Ryvius. No seriously, it's the exact same plot. Kids on a space ship all alone without adults and do their best to survive. Though the scale is noticably smaller in this show, with only nine kids instead of over five hundred. It'l probably be at least kind of cool, though I can't say I'm especially excited.



It's a sci-fi police drama with aliens and stuff. Will it be good? I dunno, but I like the premise enough to check it out at least.




Cute girls.


Even more cute girls!

___________________________________________________________________________


Well, those are all the shows I'm watching for the Summer 2019 Season! Personally, there seems to be a fair amount of lackluster shows, but also a lot of really good stuff to be excited for. Can't say I'm super excited, but I think It's gonna be a good season. You can expect me to write about all of these shows, starting two or three weeks in.


As always, check me out on Twitter @tes_star for updates and links to other stuff I write. StarMan, signing out.


1 comment

1 Comment


charlessynyard
charlessynyard
Jun 21, 2019

Kanata no Astra... the way you describe it, it sounds like the 80s anime Galactic Drifter Vifam. I always liked the opening. https://invidio.us/watch?v=Qwszwb3aIPg Of course, in the White Base in Mobile Suit Gundam, kids outnumber adults. I hope some day more adults make it into space, too.

Some of the cute girl series look good, like the “do you even lift?” anime, but I will probably be too busy to watch new series.

Like
bottom of page